One of the nation’s oldest urban clubs, the Union League of Philadelphia was founded in 1862 to raise funds for the War effort. In 2003, a full exterior restoration of the Main Building on Broad Street, designed by John Fraser, and the Middle and 15th Street Buildings, designed by Horace Trumbauer, was undertaken. Guided by historic photographs, the tower, cupola and decorative iron roof cresting that were removed early in the 20th Century were reconstructed. The monumental stairs and balustrades of the Broad Street entrance had endured car collisions and patching. They were disassembled and rebuilt, using a combination of new brownstone and cast stone. The granite steps at the 15th Street entrance, also structurally unstable, were completely dismantled, to allow for repairs and then rebuilt using the same stones. The masonry of the Trumbauer-designed additions were cleaned and repaired, including replacement of the limestone balustrade at the second-story windows. All of the windows, doors, and exterior wood trim were thoroughly repaired and refurbished. Through state-of-the-art restoration techniques, an architectural and historical gem has been preserved.